Big-Wave Contest starts

The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau is the world’s most prestigious big-wave surfing event and is the only big-wave surf contest sanctioned by the ASP, the governing body of professional surfing.

Big-Wave surfer.  Copyright: OrganiserScheduled to take place at the hallowed grounds of Waimea Bay, on the North Shore of Oahu, between December 1, 2008, and February 28, 2009, the event, otherwise known as “The Eddie”, requires one day with a minimum of 20-foot surf (Hawaiian scale) in order to run.

Held in honor of the legendary Hawaiian waterman, Eddie Aikau, the Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau gathers 28 of the most skillful and dynamic big-wave surfers from around the world as polled by a comprehensive panel consisting of influential watermen, members of the surf industry, and internationally recognized surfing Associations.

The first memorial event for Aikau was held in 1984 at Sunset Beach, two miles north of Waimea Bay. It was won by local standout Denton Miyamura. Following the inaugural event, The Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau moved to Waimea Bay, where it has remained ever since. 2008 marks the event’s 24th anniversary; in only seven of those years have the waves been big enough and the conditions right to hold the contest.

In the realm of big-wave riding, the name Eddie Aikau commands as much respect as Waimea Bay itself. Aikau was the North Shore of Oahu's first lifeguard, watching over the Bay when he wasn't charging the biggest waves of the winter. Tragically, he lost his life in 1978, at the age of 33, during a re-creation of the Polynesian voyage between Hawaii and Tahiti. In huge seas, the voyaging canoe Hokule'a was capsized. Eddie paddled off in an attempt to reach help for his fellow crewmen. He was never seen again but his spirit and legacy live on.

Watch out for some Surf-Videos.

Huntington Beach.  Copyright: ASP Morris / Covered Images

Taylor Jensen wins back-to-back events

Taylor Jensen claimed a victory at the Costa Del Mar Pro Championships over fellow finalists Harley Ingleby Kekoa Uemura and Tony Silvagni in peaky two-to-four foot (1 metre) conditions.

Michel Bourez.  Copyright:

Bourez takes top honours in Hawaiian waters

Michel Bourez (Rorutu, Tahiti, PYF), 22, made history last Saturday after winning the ASP World Qualifying Series (WQS) 6-Star Prime Reef Hawaiian Pro at Haleiwa on the island of Oahu in the Hawaiian archipelago.

Maxime Huscenot.  Copyright: Aquashot /

Interview with Maxime Huscenot

We caught up with recently crowned ASP European Junior champion Maxime Huscenot, 16, for a chat on his excellent year and path to glory.

Add This!
Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy