PWA World Cup in Alaçati - Final Day

The Terminator returns on judgment day: Bjorn Dunkerbeck sails to victory in race eleven, crowning him the event winner on the final day of competition in Alaçati. In the women's fleet, Valerie Ghibaudo wrapped up the event with a second in race eleven, having already done enough to take the event title.

Event Winner, Bjorn Dunkerbeck.  Copyright: PWA World TourWith tensions mounting on the final day of competition, the ensuing last race of the event would prove to be make or break for Bjorn Dunkerbeck (T1, North) and Antoine Albeau (Starboard, NeilPryde), who sat just 0.4 of a point apart at the top of the score sheet. For Albeau to rob Dunkerbeck of the event lead, he'd have to place in the top six, and beat Dunkerbeck in the final race. Likewise, for Dunkerbeck to take the event title, he'd have to place higher than Albeau.
In a warm up for the race final, Albeau and Dunkerbeck were pitched against each other in the semi finals. The resulting brawl saw Albeau gain a psychological boost when he crossed the line in second, two places above Dunkerbeck, however it was Finian Maynard (RRD, NeilPryde) that commanded the heat.
Coming down to the wire, the event title now hinged on the critical race final, with the winner quite literally taking all. As the green flag went up, Dunkerbeck seized the early advantage with a perfectly timed start. Off the pace, Albeau ran into problems when he caught a bag around his fin. The resulting drag left him towards the back of the pack, and stuck in dirty wind.
In contrast, Dunkerbeck, who seemed to be thriving under the pressure, screamed ahead of his nearest rival, Peter Volwater (F2, North) in second. By the fourth mark, Dunkerbeck was half a reach ahead, meaning the final straight was a mere formality en route to claiming the event title.
Crossing the finish line, the multiple world champion was greeted with wave upon wave of cheers and applause, as ecstatic fans congratulated the newly crowned event winner.
2008 World Champion, Antoine Albeau.  Copyright: PWA World TourAlbeau had little control over his result, and eventually crossed the finish line in tenth place. The crowds were then treated to a rare spectacle, as two of windsurfing's most iconic figures congratulated each other on their latest achievements. Dunkerbeck the event winner, and Albeau, whose second overall for the event was enough to crown him the 2008 Slalom World Champion.
The final women's race of the event would have little baring on the top positions, with Valerie Ghibaudo (Tabou, The Loft) and Karin Jaggi (F2, North) already cemented in positions one and two, regardless of the outcome.
Even so, there was pride at stake, and the consummate professionals launched into one last awesome battle for all to enjoy. This time round it would be Jaggi's day, as she cruised to victory with Ghibaudo close behind in second. Much like the men's result, Ghibaudo was crowned event winner, but Jaggi's second overall for the event was enough to crown her the 2008 Women's Slalom World Champion. Our congratulations go out to the winners, and all those lucky enough to take part in this amazing event. 
Event Results
1st Bjorn Dunkerbeck (T1, North)
2nd Antoine Albeau (Starboard, NeilPryde)
3rd Ross Williams (Tabou, Gaastra)
4th Finian Maynard (RRD, NeilPryde)
5th Kevin Pritchard (Starboard, Gaastra, MFC, Dakine)
1st Valerie Ghibaudo (Tabou, The Loft)
2nd Karin Jaggi (F2, North)
3rd Verena Fauster (F2, Gaastra)
4th Lena Erdil (The Loft)
5th Sarah Hebert (Starboard, Naish)
Overall Standings
1st Antoine Albeau (Starboard, NeilPryde)
2nd Bjorn Dunkerbeck (T1, North)
3rd Kevin Pritchard (Starboard, Gaastra, MFC, Dakine)
4th Ross Williams (Tabou, Gaastra)
5th Finian Maynard (RRD, NeilPryde)
1st Karin Jaggi (F2, North)
2nd Lee Korzitz
3rd Valerie Ghibaudo (Tabou, The Loft)
4th Iballa Moreno (North)
5th Alice Arutkin (Starboard, North)


The 2008 Pegasus Airlines Alaçati PWA World Cup - Day Two

Shaking things up on day two, the tables are turned following an afternoon of shocks and surprises.


The 2008 Pegasus Airlines Alaçati PWA World Cup - Day Three

Kevin Pritchard hands the event lead to Bjorn Dunkerbeck after a shock exit in the quarterfinals of race five. Meanwhile, Valerie Ghibaudo continues to cement her position at the top of the women's rankings after a day of perfect first place finishes.


The 2008 Pegasus Airlines Alaçati PWA World Cup – Day Four

14.08.08 - Antoine Albeau wins two out of the day’s three races as he mounts his attack on event leader, Bjorn Dunkerbeck. In the women’s fleet, Valerie Ghibaudo extends her event lead with two more race wins, taking her tally to six wins out of eight races.

Add This!
Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy