Billabong Pro Tahiti 2010: Andy Irons Wins

For the first time in three years, Andy Irons from Hawaii has fought himself to the top and won a competition. The sweet taste of victory is something that Irons will never forget.

Andy Irons.  Photo: ASP/RobertsonThe Billabong Pro Tahiti has come to an end with Andy Irons, the past three-time ASP World Champion, on top. Irons bested C.J. Hobgood in a thrilling Final clash at Teahupoo.

The fifth stop on the 2010 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti, culminated with Iron's emphatic and emotional victory.

“I did it!” Irons exclaimed. “I took a lot of losses, but I put in the hard work too. I dedicate this win 100% to my wife, Lindy, she is everything to me and without her, I’d be nothing.”

Andy Irons sent Mick Fanning, Patrick Gudauskas and even the nine-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater packing. Things looked bleak for Irons when he opened the Final with a massive, freefall wipeout, but he recovered by utilizing his unparalleled backhand tube-riding skills to net a 14.67 out of 20.

“Hobgood paddled me inside and caught the first wave,” Irons said. “The next wave was better and I just fell out of the sky. I thought my board was going to break. It has two buckles on it already.

Irons expected trouble from Hobgood and considers himself lucky to have won against such a strong competitor.

"CJ. is so dangerous here. I knew he would be getting tens or twos, and I was lucky it was twos today.”

With his win in Tahiti, Irons moves from No. 18 to No. 7 on the ASP World Title Race rankings, placing him well inside the ASP Top 10.

“I feel like I’m back,” Irons said. “I have to thank ASP for giving me the wildcard back here. My whole dream was to come back and just win one contest, and I’ve done that now.”


Surf Videos

Water, waves and wind: Check out our surfing videos. We have collected tons of free surf videos and clips for you!

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2010.  Photo: ASP/Robertson

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2010: Round 3 Completed

From this point on, the ASP World Title events will have 36-man fields comprised of the ASP Top 34 (Top 32 finishers after five events plus two surfer wildcards) and two event wildcards.

ASP World Tour Midterm Wildcards.  Photo: ASP/Morris

2010 ASP World Tour Wildcards Announced For Remaining Events

The ASP Wildcard Committee convened immediately after Round 3 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti came to a close. These surfing professionals have granted two surfers the chance to compete in the rest of the 2010 ASP World Tour.

Add This!

Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy