Irons Brothers eager to take top honors at Pipeline Masters

Three-time ASP World Champion Andy Irons (HAW) has won the Pipeline Masters four out of the last six years and will be chasing event title No. 5 when the Pipeline Masters Dec. 8 till 20, 2008 waiting period opens tomorrow.

Andy Irons.  Copyright: Chang / Covered ImagesIrons chose not to compete in the last two ASP World Tour events in Spain and Brazil, but will be back in action and ready to reassert his dominance at Pipe this week.

“I took a break for about a month and came back to the North Shore to train and get my rhythm back,” Andy Irons said. “The Pipe event has been in the back of my head for over a month now, and these past couple weeks of surfing and training have brought my confidence back to where it needs to be. I’m ready. I know I can win out here.”

Irons won the event in 2002, 2003, 2005 and 2006. Only nine-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA) has more victories at Pipe– Slater won the event five times, earning top honors in 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996 and 1999. If Irons can clinch the title in 2008, he and Slater will share the record for the most victories at Pipeline.

Andy Irons’ brother Bruce has won a specialty event at the break and competing in his last event as a full-time ASP World Tour surfer, would love nothing more than to go all the way this year. Bruce won his first ASP World Tour event earlier this season in Bali.

“It felt good to finally get a win in Bali after all these years, and I’d be stoked to go out and win Pipe to finish off the year,” Bruce Irons said. “But I’m sick of people saying this is going to be my last event. I’m not going to be on tour officially, but I am still going to surf the Tahiti and Pipe events. You can’t get rid of me that easy.”

The concluding competition of both the 2009 ASP World Tour and the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is unique in that 14 ‘Pipeline Specialists,’ one Vans Triple Crown Contender (Hawaiian Dusty Payne) and one Tahitian Invitee (Manoa Drollet) are seeded alongside the ASP Top 45 and three event wildcards (Shane Dorian, Laurie Towner and Kalani Chapman).

The Hawaiian Pipeline specialists who qualified earlier in the year are: Dustin Barca, Makuakai Rothman, T.J. Barron, Ian Walsh, Marcus Hickman, Jessie Merle-Jones, Nathan Carroll, Ola Eleogram, Kekoa Balcaso, Daniel Jones, Mark Healey, Kamalei Alexander, Tory Barron and Dave Wassell.

Former event champion Jamie O'Brien (HAW) will replace an injured Neco Padaratz (BRA), Torrey Meister (HAW) is in for Jordy Smith (ZAF) who hurt his knee surfing Sunset and 1999 ASP World Champion Mark Occhilupo will replace Travis Logie (ZAF) who pulled out for personal reasons.

The top three contenders for the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing title (a three-event Hawaiian specialty series) are Dusty Payne (HAW), C.J. Hobgood (USA) and Joel Parkinson (AUS).

“Small surf is forecast for the first day of the waiting period, December 8th, with a new W/NW swell filling in Tuesday the 9th and building into Wednesday the 10th,” Randy Rarick, Vans Triple Crown of Surfing Director, said. “There is a 13 day window from December 8-20th with competition being held on the best three days.”



Surf Videos

Water, waves and wind: Check out our surfing videos. We have collected tons of free surf videos and clips for you!

Ruben Gonzalez.  Copyright: ASP Kirstin / Covered Images

North Shore Chronicles 2008

That's it, the ASP WQS have come to an end celebrating its sixteenth year of action and success around the world and massive surf blessed the final event of the 2008 season.

Lineup Maui.  Copyright: ASP / Covered Images

Dream Tour Qualification comes down to Billabong Pro Maui

The Billabong Pro Maui begins its waiting period and the event will serve as last opportunity for surfers trying to requalify for the 2009 Dream Tour as well as the deciding bout in the hunt for the 2008 Vans Triple Crown of Surfing title.

Add This!
Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy