Perrow Wins 2011 Billabong Pipe Masters In Hawaii

Kieren Perrow has won his inaugural ASP World Tour event, taking out the 2011 Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons over Joel Parkinson. John John Florence is the overall winner of the 2011 Vans Triple Crown.

Kieren Perrow.  Photo: ASP/ScholtzKieren Perrow, who finished runner-up to Jeremy Flores in last year’s Billabong Pipe Masters, returned to form again this year and charged the massive Pipeline conditions on the opening two days of competition to solidify his position on the 2012 ASP World Tour.

The Australian was equally deadly in the smaller conditions on the final day and commanded the Final against Parkinson in a backdoor shootout to secure his maiden ASP World Tour victory.

“It took me up until now to get over getting second to Jeremy last year” Perrow said. “It’s so good to get back here. I just felt so comfortable the whole time."

Parkinson, a multiple Vans Triple Crown Winner, came close to clinching his first Billabong Pipe Masters Title, but was unable to find a rhythm in the Final against Kieren Perrow.

“It’s a hard one to lose because you’ve only got one guy to beat and you’ve beaten so many, but it’s the hardest one to win,” Parkinson said. “I couldn’t think of anyone more deserving than Kieren (Perrow). He’s a true Pipe Master and one of the best guys out there and I’m so glad he won.”

Parkinson battled his way into the Final with a hard fought victory over Kelly Slater in their Semifinals clash. After a series of exciting exchanges, the Australian was in need of an 8.21 with just minutes remaining and Parkinson drove through a barrel on his backhand to secure an 8.60 and his Final berth.

Kelly Slater took an amazing come from behind heat win in his Quarterfinals matchup against lethal Pipeline local John John Florence. The Floridian was in need of a combination of 16.70 to overtake Florence with just three minutes remaining on the clock, and maintained his composure, threading the needle on two back-to-back backdoor barrels for a 9.70 and a 7.83 to surpass the young Hawaiian en route to the Semifinals.

Slater put on another strong effort in his Semifinals clash against Parkinson, but was unable to surpass the Gold Coast native and finished equal 3rd overall. 

John John Florence put on an amazing show at this year’s Billabong Pipe Masters, taking the event’s only two perfect 10-point rides, but fell to Slater in the Quarterfinals. Florence’s overall effort including a win at the Vans World Cup of Surfing at Sunset Beach and a 5th place at the Reef Hawaiian Pro secured his first Vans Triple Crown win, making him the youngest competitor in history to win the prestigious series.


Surf Videos

Water, waves and wind: Check out our surfing videos. We have collected tons of free surf videos and clips for you!

Taylor Jensen.  Photo: Aquashot/

Taylor Jensen Claims 2011 WLT Title At ASP Bear Pro In Italy

After the results were announced, Taylor Jensen was carried up the beach by his fellow competitors to celebrate his first WLT title. The natural footer had been displayed the full array of his longboarding skills at the 2011 ASP Bear Pro in Italy.

Kelly Slater in Waimea Bay.  Photo: Quiksilver/Bielman

ASP Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau 2011

Itís a rare international sporting event that can have no set date, be held just eight times in a span of 27 years, and still gain strength. The holding period for the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau began on December 1, 2011.

Add This!

Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy