2010 ASP World Tour Wildcards Announced For Remaining Events

The ASP Wildcard Committee convened immediately after Round 3 of the Billabong Pro Tahiti came to a close. These surfing professionals have granted two surfers the chance to compete in the rest of the 2010 ASP World Tour.

ASP World Tour Midterm Wildcards.  Photo: ASP/MorrisWith the completion of Round 3 of the 2010 Billabong Pro Tahiti, the Top 32 has been finalized and the ASP Wildcard Committee has announced the names of the two wildcards, who will compete for the remainder of the season.

The ASP Wildcard Committee is comprised of surfer representatives, an international panel of ASP doctors and ASP officials.

The two wildcards for the back half of the 2010 ASP World Tour have been allocated to Kieren Perrow (AUS), 33, and Gabe Kling (USA), 30.

Perrow, who suffered a pre-season injury which he endured through the first three events of the year, ranked highest out of the three wildcard applications by the international panel of ASP doctors, stating that his injury unquestionably hindered his ability to perform.

At the end of the 2009 ASP World Tour season, the ASP Wildcard Committee informed then-unsuccessful applicants Josh Kerr and Gabe Kling that they would be eligible for wildcards at the midyear point this season.

They were also informed that should a decision need to be made between them, the deciding factor would be their ASP World Ranking position when the ASP midyear field reduction had been finalized.

As there was only one wildcard position available following the allocation to Perrow, Kling was awarded the second position, holding spot No. 27 on the ASP World Rankings with 11,328 points. Kerr, as of the yesterday completion of the midyear field reduction, is currently sitting at No. 29 on the ASP World Rankings with 10,988 points.

Injury replacements for the remainder of the season will be allocated to the next highest ranked surfers from the first half of the 2010 ASP World Tour season.

First Replacement: Tom Whitaker (AUS), 30, finished No. 33 on ASP World Tour

Second Replacement: Dean Morrison (AUS), 29, finished No. 34 on ASP World Tour

Following the completion of the 2010 ASP World Tour season, with the Billabong Pipeline Masters in Hawaii, the 2011 ASP Top 34 will be comprised of the Top 22 finishers from the ASP World Tour, the next Top 10 finishers from the ASP World Rankings as well as two surfer wildcards.


Surf Videos

Water, waves and wind: Check out our surfing videos. We have collected tons of free surf videos and clips for you!

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2010.  Photo: ASP/Scholtz

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2010: Jordy Smith Eliminated

By the end of the Billabong Pro Tahiti, the 2010 ASP World Tour will have completed half the season, and the ASP Top 45 will be reduced to 34, meaning that 13 surfers will be relegated back to the ASP PRIME and Star events.

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2010.  Photo: ASP/Robertson

Billabong Pro Tahiti 2010: Round 3 Completed

From this point on, the ASP World Title events will have 36-man fields comprised of the ASP Top 34 (Top 32 finishers after five events plus two surfer wildcards) and two event wildcards.

Add This!

Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy