Pospisil demolishes Red Bull Snowscrapers

Under the bright lights of the New York City skyline in front of a supportive crowd battling a frigid cold, U.S. rider Shayne Pospisil pushed through a hard-hitting field of world-class snowboarders to claim the inaugural Red Bull Snowscrapers title.

Red Bull Snowscrapers 2009.  Copyright: Christian Pondella / redbullphotofíles.comIn second place came Norwegian powerhouse Torstein Horgmo, whose podium finish and sixth TTR result this season earned him enough points to break the Top 5. “New York! Pretty stoked I just got second in the event, Red Bull Snowscrapers. Currently sitting Top 5 on the TTR and it’s been a hell of a night!” exclaimed Horgmo.
Torstein, however, came under heavy fire midway through the competition after surviving the 16-rider jam session and having to go head-to-head first with Shaun White in the quarter finals, then with Travis Rice in the semi-finals, both who were big favorites entering the competition.
The eight rider, two-run knock-out match ups began with a close race as both White and Horgmo went trick-for-trick with Torstein edging out Shaun with a super clean backside 9. Horgmo maintained his momentum against Travis Rice as Shayne Pospisil took down both Scotty Lago (USA) and best trick winner Terje Haakonsen (NOR) with consistency, facing Horgmo in an epic three-run finale.
Although both Horgmo and Pospisil had three runs to lay it down, their first hits ultimatey decided the victor. Horgmo mixed things up with a sick frontside 9 tail grab, but Pospisil refused to be outdone stomping a backside 9 with big style, and after a couple more runs, walked away with the 5Star Red Bull Snowscrapers title.
Further down in the rankings, Shaun White’s sixth place finish in New York earned him a spot in the TTR Top 10 with Mikkel Bang (NOR) reaching the Top 20 and Jack Mitrani (USA) sitting not too far behind at World No. 23.  Scotty Lago (USA), who placed third in the Red Bull Skyscrapers also moved into the Top 40.

1 – Shayne Pospisil
2 – Torstein Horgmo
3 – Scotty Lago
4 – Travis Rice
5 – Daniel Ek



Markku Koski.  Foto: fotograferen.net

Big Air: Koski takes World Championship title

In the last competition of the 2009 FIS Snowboard World Championships Gangwon, Korea, one Finnish rider proofed once again that Big Air is its home country’s domain.

Airtime im Bergisel Stadion in Innsbruck.  Foto: Billabong Air & Style 2009

Colin Frei wins at the Billabong Air & Style 2009 in Innsbruck

The winner of the Billabong Air & Style Innsbruck Tirol 09 is Colin Frei (SUI). The 20-year old prevailed with a McTwist Indy Grab (height 6.50 m) in a memorable final in the 12.20 m high quarterpipe over Peetu Piiroinen (FIN) and Olivier Gittler (FRA).


Snowboarding Videos

Our snowboarding video channel brings you the latest snowboarding action right to your computer! Summer and winter - free snowboarding videos and clips!

Add This!
Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy