Burton New Zealand Open 2009: These are the Slopestyle Winners

On the 14th of August the winners of the category Slopestyle are set: Itīs Jamie Anderson and Sebastien Toutant who can bring the New Zealand Open 2009 Slopestyle Titles home.

Burton Slopestyle Foto: Phil EricksonAnother day of bluebird skies graced Cardrona Alpine Resort, which remained impervious to the clouds, sitting bove the inversion layer once again for men’s and women’s slopestyle semifinal and final competitions on the 14th of August. Part of the Burton Global Open Series and the TTR World Snowboard Tour, the seventh annual Burton New Zealand Open showcased some of the world’s best riders as they took to Cardrona’s 800m long slopestyle course, which featured up and downrails, boxes, three kickers and a unique upstair feature to quarterpipe.

A field of 42 men and 16 women were battling it out for a piece of the 24,000 US-Dollar slopestyle prize purse and the top spots worth 6,000 US-Dollar each. An international field of riders from nine countries included New Zealand’s own Shelly Gotlieb, James Hamilton, Stef Zeestraten, in addition to BGOS Champions Chas Guldemond and Jamie Anderson, Olympians Danny Kass and Mason Aguirre and many more.

Burton Slopestyle Foto: Phil EricksonThe women were first to drop and competition was stiff through semifinals, but it was Kiwi Shelly Gotlieb that came out on top, killing it on the course with a run that featured style and variety on the rails, a Cab 5 indy, a backflip and a backside 360 tailgrab. Gotlieb continued to ride strong through the finals, taking third, being outdone by Janna Weatherby from the USA in second and 2008 NZO slopestyle champion Jamie Anderson from the USA in first. Anderson impressed the judges with a run that started with a street style tailslide, 5-0 to fakie on the box into a switch backside 360 on the first kicker, followed by a Cab 540 melon into a front 360 melon, followed by a 5-0 on the uprail, to a tail stall on the quarterpipe, finishing with a 50/50 frontside boardslide on the kinked rail.

“I had a blast,” said Anderson of her win. “It was a beautiful day, we lucked out with the weather, and I was happy with my riding, I had so much fun today.”

Burton Slopestyle Foto: Phil EricksonFrench Canadians Sebastien Toutant and Charles Reid clinched the top two spots in men’s semifinals, Toutant taking the top spot by wowing the judges with his signature “Toutsie Roll”, a backside doublecork 1080 melon. Reid couldn’t stick his run in the finals, dropping him to the back of the pack, but Torstein Horgmo (NOR) threw down in his third and final run with back to back 1080s, giving him an edge and finishing second. Eric Willet from the USA stuck back-to-back 900s and had smooth style on the rails, giving him an edge and riding away with third. But in the end, Sebastien recreated his winning run from semis by starting off with a backside 270 on the first rail to 50/50 backside 360 on the second rail, into a backside rodeo 540 indy, into a Cab 900 stalefish, followed by a backside 1080 double cork melon, followed by a noseslide on the uprail to alleyoop backside 50/50 on the quarter, finishing with a frontside boardslide on the kinked rail.

“I’m so stoked to win my first contest of the year,” said Toutant. “It was a great course, very different. I had fun trying new things and am so happy to do well.”

With 850 TTR ranking points, both winners of today's slopestyle finals took over the world number one spots on the Swatch TTR World Snowboard Tour. The Burton New Zealand Open is a perfect opportunity for riders to get a jumpstart heading into the Northern Hemisphere winter. 

Burton Slopestyle Foto: Phil EricksonTomorrow the Burton New Zealand Open will come to a close with halfpipe semifinals and finals, don’t miss your chance to see Olympic Gold Medalists Kelly Clark and Shaun White, in addition to two-time Olympic medalist Danny Kass, past Olympians Mason Aguirre from the USA, Cheryl Maas from the Netherlands, Antti Autti from Finland and Olympic hopefuls like Jiayu Liu from China, Peetu Piiroinen from Finland, Jamie Anderson from the USA, Justin Lamoureux from Canada, Lisa Wiik from Norway, Danny Davis from the USA and Sina Candrian from Switzerland.

Add This!
Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy