Winners Of The 2010 LA Skate Film Festival

The first ever LA Skate Film Festival has come to a conclusion and the winners of each category were announced at the very exciting awards ceremony in Hollywood.

LA Skate Film Festival, Awards Ceremony.  Photo: Event HostThe awards ceremony of the 2010 LA Skate Film Festival concluded two days worth of screenings and panel discussions in Hollywood. Exceptional work was sent in from all over the world and the first two days showcased the top 3 films in each category.

Educational panels were presented by Windowseat pictures, Centuray 21 3D, and Rabbit and ring of Fire to teach the filmmakers about integrating 3D and visual effects into their future skateboard films.

The much anticipated presentation of the awards came on the final day of the festival. Filmmakers had flown from as far as Vancouver, Philadelphia, and Austin, hoping to receive the 1st ever LA Skate Film Festival trophy designed by RVCA’s artist, Kevin Ancell.

LA Skate Film Festival, Awards Ceremony.  Photo: Event HostMembers of the Academy of Skateboard Filmmakers announced the winning filmmakers and discussed the significance of the LA Skate Film Festival for the industry.

Jim Thiebaud, Geoff Rowley, Grant Brittain, Bryce Kanights, Jamie Thomas, Ricki Bedenbaugh, and Greg Hunt were also present to show their support of the festival.

The surprise of the night was the “Tribute to Craig Stecyk”, which was presented by Steve Olson. Craig Stecyk is an inspiration to many of the filmmakers and skateboarders in attendance and is very deserving of this Tribute.

LA Skate Film Festival, Awards Ceremony.  Photo: Event Host2010 LA Skate Film Festival Winners:

Best Emerging Filmmaker: Symmetry, Directed and Produced by Dayman Cash

Best International Film: Plank, Directed by Billy Pols, Produced by Maarten Kuit. Executive Producer: Jeroen Van Den Idsert

Best Skate Shop Video: The Dango is Dead, Directed and produced by Joe Perrin. Executive Producer: John Montesi

Best Independent Film: Machotaildrop, Directed by Corey Adams and Alex Craig, Produced Oliver Linsley and Jared Valentine, Executive Producers: Shon Tomlin and CJ Olivares

Best Documentary: Skateistan: To Live and Skate Kabul, directed by Orlando Von Einsiedel, Produced by Orlando Von Einsiedel and Louis Figgis. Executive Producers: Jon Prever, Thanh Ma, Rod Stanley

Best Commercial: Nestle Aero, Directed by Ty Evans, Produced by Nathan De La Rionda. Executive Producer: Dana Garman

Best US Film: Extremely Sorry, directed by Flip Productions, produced by Ewan Bowman. Executive Producers: Geoff Rowley and Jeremy Fox, Claymation: Edgar Alvarez, Original Music: Baron

Best Soundtrack: Extremely Sorry. Original Music: Baron

Best Editing: Wood, Directed by Colin Kennedy, Produced by Cullen Pythress. Executive Producer: Tim Gavin Best Photography: Skateistan: To Live and Skate Kabul

Skateboard Videos

Tons of skateboarding videos! Get the latest skating action on your computer! Skateboard clips for free!

Dave Kinsey Artwork.  Photo: Dave Kinsey Inhumanate II

Art And Skateboarding: Renowned Artist Dave Kinsey

The worlds of sport and art have harmoniously combined once again. The Arbor Collective has brilliantly adopted the works of Dave Kinsey for their new skateboard decks.

LA Skate Film Festival Photo: Event Host

LA Skate Film Festival 2010: Nominees Announced

The LA Skate Film Festival has announced the nominees for its 1st annual event that will be held August 31st & September 1st, 2010, in downtown LA.

Add This!

Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy