Winners Of 2010 Xterra New Zealand Championship

Appropriately, two Kiwis take the win at the Xterra New Zealand Championship. Winners Scott Thorne and Nicola Leary celebrate after accomplishing excellent individual times in bike, run and swim.

The valiant winners in the men’s and women’s pro races of the XTERRA New Zealand Championship are Scott Thorne and Nicola Leary of New Zealand.

The men's winner, Scott Thorne, had a very successful swim, run and bike and luckily didn't have to worry about competitor Richard Ussher, since the defending champ was forced to withdraw early due to shoulder pain during the swim. 

"I hurt my shoulder after the race in Abu Dhabi which has made me unable to recover the arm over the top in the recovery of the stroke. I'm going for some scans this week to see if it is going to require surgery. I will definitely hope to be back next year," said Richard Ussher.

Scott Thorne couldn't think of anything better than winning the 2010 XTERRA New Zealand Championship in his home country and comments on his stellar swim.

“I’m really stoked to be able to complete my set of medals” Thorne explained. “I got third in 2008 and second last year so to come here and take the win is just awesome.  I was very pleased with my swim and then as soon as I hit the bike everything just clicked.”

After an intense race, champion athlete Nicola Leary has now claimed the women's title for the second-year in a row. With no time for a break, Leary has headed to Europe for the Mountain Biking World Cup circuit, aiming to qualify for the NZ Olympic Mountain Biking team.

Behind Nicola Leary was Monique Avery in second place.  Monique voyages back to Maui to compete in the World XTERRA Champs in October.  Rebecca Rae took third place in the women’s race.

In addition to the winners Scott Thorne and Nicola Leary, over 2,200 participants attended the 2010 XTERRA event in New Zealand.

Add This!

Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy