Red Bull Cliff Diving 2010: Gary Hunt Wins in La Rochelle

The sport's most distinguished series - the 2010 Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series - kicked off with its first event in La Rochelle. Gary Hunt claimed the win after diving 27.50 meters into freezing cold water before 50,000 spectators.

Gary Hunt, La Rochelle.  Photo: Romina Amato/Red Bull Cliff DivingThe 2010 Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series launched on May 15 the historic port of La Rochelle. The enthusiastic crowd was perfect inspiration for the divers as they leapt from Saint Nicolas Tower.

Diver Gary Hunt was declared the winner in La Rochelle after performing the most advanced dive and starting season II of the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series the way he ended it last time – by winning. 

Gary Hunt scored three tens for his last dive, which brought him to an overall total of 390.10 points.

“To finish ahead of Orlando Duque is great, he's the one we're all chasing," said Gary Hunt. "I went with a very difficult dive in the second round and in the third was happy with how I hit. The competition is great this year and I think after La Rochelle that it can get much better."

Orlando Duque, La Rochelle.  Photo: V.Curuchet/Red Bull Cliff DivingNine times world champion Orlando Duque ended up in second place with 369.30 points and American Kent De Mond landed in third with 328.25 points.

The new 2010 competition format – only the top six after the first two heats advance to the finals – stacked on the pressure.

At single-digit outside temperatures and strong winds, the divers could barely walk after plunging into the icy water.

After a great event in La Rochelle, the next stop of the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2010 will be held in Yucatán, Mexico on June 6.


Outdoor & Adventure Sports Videos

Videos from adventure sports and outdoor sports events.

Hannes Arch Winner.  Photo: Jamie McDonald/Getty Images
Extreme Sports

Red Bull Air Race 2010: Hannes Arch Wins In Rio de Janeiro

Competition on Sunday had to be canceled due to bad weather conditions. As a result, Hannes Arch once again claims his second consecutive win at the 2010 Red Bull Air Race.

Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2010.  Photo: Dean Theml
Extreme Sports

Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series: 2010 Return

The Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series is back in May 2010 and the divers are preparing themselves for a tough competition in La Rochelle, France. Hassan Mouit, Cyrille Oumedjkane and Gary Hunt practice their skills together at Fort Boyard.

Add This!

Content End svenska Deutsch English
Sitemap - Contact - Imprint - Privacy Policy